John Hiatt

john-hiatt7

Portrait of John Hiatt, 12"x9", watercolor on Canson cold press 140-lb paper

Most of the time when I’m drawing, I’m also listening to music. So it’s no wonder that most of my work is related to a song– either directly through a portrait of the singer/musician, or by extension, from emotion(s) that I was feeling through the music/song.

The portrait above of John Hiatt was done in 2003 while listening to his 1987 Bring the Family CD. I bought that CD on the strength of his “Have a Little Faith in Me” song which I like so much! I copied his photo from a page, I believe, that was part of the liner notes that accompanied the CD.

I used Da Vinci transparent watercolors on 140-lb, cold press Canson 9″x12″ watercolor pad. I used only blues and greens in this portrait. Click on this link to listen to Have A Little Faith In Me by John Hiatt.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

