If You Leave

Portrait of Molly, 12"x9", colored pencil on Bienfang 70-lb white paper

If you were around in the ’80s (like I was), or at least have a penchant for ’80s culture, then you wouldn’t miss the name of the woman in the drawing above. Or if you missed that, then probably you’d remember the album/CD cover where I copied this drawing from. If you guessed Pretty in Pink, you are right! And the name of the lady? Molly Ringwald!

Although I couldn’t really remember what the 1986 movie Pretty in Pink was all about, I love its soundtrack! I have listened to it countless times in the past! And to a young, impressionable man that I was during that time– who grew up listening mostly to British bands– hearing the first cut on that album was mighty unforgettable! The first song, “If You Leave,” by OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark) was so catchy it was difficult to shake it off my head long after the music was done! Then it was followed by Suzanne Vega’s “Left of Center.” Then by Jesse Johnson’s “Get To Know Ya.” Then by INXS’ “Do Wot You Do.” And so on and so forth! It was capped by The Smiths (The Smiths, no less!) with their song “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want.” It’s like a “torture” of delight! Unbelievable! This album is truly remarkable in that all the songs here– every single one of them, in my opinion– are great! Not one cut here did I not like! I think this is one of the greatest soundtrack albums of all time!

Leave a Reply

