Her

Her, 12"x9.5", pastel on Strathmore Dry Media 100-lb white paper

Here is another example of a practice drawing that I did of the human face. I start first by deciding that I will draw a female head. Choosing the gender of the subject at the onset is important. The reason is because men and women differ on certain facial features, however subtle, that ultimately determine whether one is masculine- or feminine-looking. This is especially true when the face is seen straight on where shapes are somehow harder to define than when the face is seen in profile. Then, I just let my hand do the rest. Almost everything that I know about drawing the human head I learned from Mr. Jack Hamm‘s book, Drawing the Head and Figure. The pencil marks on either top corner of the paper are the names of colors I used for this drawing.

Leave a Reply

