I love ink!

Thanks!, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

Sleep tight, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

Hello Mister Beak!, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

Sometimes I don’t know what the end result is going to be on paper when I’m drawing in ink. It’s a very enjoyable and exciting medium that I doodle most freely when I’m at it! Whether I’m using ink with a brush, or dip pen, or a Rotring ArtPen, or even a toothpick, the effect I get from it is one of freedom! It’s like being a child again and discovering, for the first time, the joy of mark-making! How can I go wrong with a medium so straightforward that the only concerns I seem to have are, “Is it black or white?” and “Is it thick or thin?”

Thanks!, Sleep tight and Hello Mister Beak! are just three examples of my delightful experience with ink. Although I didn’t know at first what to make of the Rotring ArtPen in my hand, I must have willed myself into auto-pilot mode, sustained along the process by subconscious thoughts of my pen-and-ink heroes, Jeff MacNelly, Pat Oliphant, Dengcoy Miel and Bill Watterson!

What’s not to love about this medium? None worth shunning it! I love the dense blackness of ink! I love the way paper curls up and wrinkles when I’ve put too much ink on it and still the intensity of the ink’s hue stays the same! I love the way ink spatters! I love the way ink varies the weight of the line and how the feathery edges fade into dry-brush effect as the ink is slowly used up! I love the way black ink defines the paper’s white spaces and vice versa! I love the way ink fills the belly of my paint brush! I love ink! And I’m not talking about calligraphy yet!

Leave a Reply

