Voltes re^ersed

Voltes V regatta, 12"x9", pastel and acrylic on Bienfang 70-lb white paper

I remember one day trying to recollect my childhood memories of that 1970s Voltes V robot anime just to see if I could draw his face. Although I didn’t really follow that show as a child because of poor TV reception in our area, I was fascinated by its cartoon design and its theme song. From what I remembered, there was a lot of triangular shapes in Voltes’ face. So I tried to draw him using bits and pieces of triangles. As it turned out, what I drew was far from any likeness! Not only were the shapes and colors reversed, the result looked more like a regatta! Click this link to see what the real Voltes V looked like.

Oh well, I really enjoyed drawing it anyway!

Leave a Reply

