7th 9/11

Eagle afire!, 12"x9", acrylic on Canson 70-lb white Drawing paper

Chasm, 12"x9", ink and acrylic on Canson 70-lb white Drawing paper

Chaos in red, white and blue, 12"x9", acrylic on Canson 70-lb white Drawing paper

Chaos in red, white and blue, 12"x9", acrylic on Canson 70-lb white Drawing paper

Today marks the seventh-year anniversary of 9/11, perhaps the saddest day in American history this side of World War II. I feel there is nothing else left to be said that hasn’t been said already about this horrific event. None that I would add to say could change what had already happened, except to sympathize with and share the grief of those who lost their loved ones and were most deeply affected that fateful day.
My prayers go to every one of them and I hope that God will never allow this kind of tragedy to happen again anywhere else.
My prayers also go to all the men and women here in the United States and overseas who are in service of keeping the peace.
Although I am a Filipino, I do love this country! To me, the United States is like a “father” (a father who works to earn his family a living; hence, the work I do here to earn my keep); the Philippines (where I was born) is like a “mother” (a mother who gave me birth; hence, my affinity to my roots). So both countries are very dear to me! If I hear bad news happening in either country, I feel sad in much the same way as when I learn of a loved one in grief!
And as quixotic as I may sound, I hope that someday peace will truly reign in this world. It is not bad to hope and pray. But it is even more important to love!

Leave a Reply

