Fear

Feel fear-free, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

Fear limits one’s life. So to conquer fear is to feel free! Conquering it doesn’t really get rid of the fear, but taking control over it. The biblical passage, “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom” (Proverbs 9:10), simply attests to the fact that fear itself can be a source of strength. We can subdue all other fears by leaving only one “essential” fear– the fear of the Lord (which translates to our belief in the truth of the existence of only one Almighty living God)! And how do I make the most good use of this “essential” fear? By praying! Praying is my personal channel to God. And in my case, I start by saying the Lord’s Prayer. I believe this is a complete prayer in that it has everything I need to survive and live in faith! Even so, I follow that– according to my needs and His will– with my personal petitions. To conclude my prayer, I always remember God the Father’s Son by saying, “…in Jesus’ name (or, through Jesus Christ in unity with the most Holy Spirit). Amen.” One thing I always remember when I pray is to be true to myself! I can’t be committing “perjury” against God– not a good idea!

Leave a Reply

