Rouault’s stained

Stop fighting!, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

My beautiful balloons, 12"x9", pen and ink on Bienfang 70-lb white paper

I was thinking of two things when I did these drawings: stained glass windows and Georges Rouault. Had I colored them, they would have appeared quite like my previous drawing, Man tamer, from a previous post. I generally start by choosing a color for one of the sections in the drawing and then apply its complement to the section next to it. For example, red and green, yellow and violet, blue and orange, etc. From there I just go by my visual instinct, making sure the whole drawing has enough contrasts to make it throb with life. And I achieve this by using the color harmony method called “complementary color” scheme. Complementary colors are any colors that are directly opposite each other in a color wheel.
Applying colors in this manner always remind me of Georges Rouault’s expressionist painting, The Old King, with its bright colors bordered by black lines not unlike the kind you’ll see in stained glass art.

2 Responses

  1. If you like Rouault, come to Boston College for a large retrospective running through December 7. For details, visit http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/artmuseum/exhibitions/archive/mystic-masque/index.html.

  2. Thanks, Stephen, for the info and the invitation!

Leave a Reply

