How Sweet It Is…!

Here are two drawings that I did while listening to James Taylor‘s “How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You.”  It is the title of a song written by the Motown songwriting trio of Lamont Dozier and brothers Brian Holland and Edward Holland, Jr.. It was originally recorded in 1964 by the great Marvin Gaye. But it was James Taylor’s version (from his 1975 Gorilla album) that I’ve come to know by heart.

how sweet it is to be loved by you!

how sweet it is to be loved by you!, 11"x8.5", pastel on Winsor & Newton 65-lb paper

How sweet it is to be loved by you
How sweet it is to be loved by you

I needed the shelter of someone’s arms, there you were
I needed someone to understand my ups and downs, there you were
With sweet love and devotion
Deeply touching my emotion
I want to stop and thank you baby
I want to stop and thank you baby (yes I do)

How sweet it is to be loved by you (feel so fine)
How sweet it is to be loved by you

I close my eyes at night
Wondering where would I be without you in my life
Everything I did was just a bore
Everywhere I went it seems I’d been there before
But you brighten up for me all of my days
With a love so sweet in so many ways
I want to stop and thank you baby
I just want to stop and thank you baby (whoa, yeah)

How sweet it is to be loved by you (it’s just like sugar sometimes)
How sweet it is to be loved by you

(Whoa, yeah)

You were better to me than I was to myself
For me, there’s you and there ain’t nobody else
I want to stop and thank you baby
I just want to stop and thank you baby (whoa, yes)

How sweet it is to be loved by you
How sweet it is to be loved by you (whoa, now)
How sweet it is to be loved by you (it’s like jelly, baby, whoa now)
How sweet it is to be loved by you (just like honey to the bee babe, yeah now)
How sweet it is to be loved by you
How sweet it is to be loved by you!

let me count the ways

let me count the ways, 12"x9", pen and ink on Strathmore 400-series, 60-lb Sketch paper

lyrics courtesy of :    http://www.sing365.com

4 Responses

  1. I’m more familiar with Taylor’s version also. I actually like his songs. Reminded me to set a new playlist. Your illustrations/interpretations cheered me up. Happy weekend!

    • Hi, wits! Thanks a lot for visiting my blog and for appreciating my illustrations!
      I was wondering if readers knew the artists I was writing about– knowing that I’m a geezer and that I’m partial to the (old) songs I grew up listening to. I’m really happy that you also like his songs. I love rock songs, but I also love folk songs– the ones that you can actually sing along with just an acoustic guitar. I was already listening to James Taylor’s music long before I discovered two more brilliant folk singers: Jim Croce and Cat Stevens (now known as Yusuf Islam). I love their music!
      Thanks a lot again, wits, for dropping by! Take care always and happy weekend to you, too!!!

  2. Master Artist…that song is one of my all time favorites…very significant indeed …down memory lane .Anyway, it’s always great to hear this song many many times over the radio coz it brings back GREAT memories ..Just about to log-out …had to visit some blogs (of course top of the list is yours) good to read yours for the night cap.Sweet dreams Master Artist !Keep it up and take care !I’m just a blog away…Mama Mary loves you!Keep on praying dear friend !

    • Hi, 5378! Thank you so much for always reading my blog! I am really glad that we share the same liking to this particular James Taylor song! JT has a lot of truly beautiful songs– and this is absolutely one of them!
      Thank you also for your inspiring message; I appreciate your kindness a lot!!!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always, 5378!!!

Leave a Reply

