Evelien Lohbeck

The award-winning video below is from Evelien Lohbeck, an animation study graduate from the Netherlands. I watched it for the first time only today, although it’s been around the web for quite some time now. When I saw the video, I was blown away! I couldn’t believe the imagination and creativity I was seeing! And I’ve seen quite a lot of stunning, creative animations already! This one surprised me in that it’s somehow a crossing point for traditional drawing, cel and stop-motion animation, and computer animation; only, I can’t quite place which one is the dominant process. At time 0:13 when she pressed the “on” button, to 0:16 when XP started to boot up (complete with that familiar Microsoft sound) and down to 0:34 when she started typing YouTube’s URL in the Google search bar, I was mumbling to myself, “What the #%$*, how the heck did she do that??!”  Well, that’s just the start of her amazing work! And the way she incorporated her hands in this video is akin to witnessing an unbelievable sleight-of-hand show! It’s like magic! Why, even the design of her website is fantastic! I take my hat off to you, Evelien!!! Brilliant work!!!

Leave a Reply

