Man in the Mirror (R.I.P. Michael Jackson, 1958-2009)

Despite all the negative things that had been written about the man, there is no denying that Michael Jackson is a true musical genius that only comes once in a lifetime. And just like the rest from my generation, I was fortunate enough to see him rise from obscurity to a staggering iconic peak of superstardom! Among my personal song favorites from his early days are “I’ll Be There” and “Ben.” And of course later on, I would also adore his songs “Don’t Stop ’til You Get Enough,” “Rock With You,” “Billie Jean,” “Beat It,” “Say Say Say,” “You Are Not Alone,” “Heal the World,” and “You Rock My World,” to name a few. But it was his 1987 song, “Man in the Mirror” (which, surprisingly, he did not compose), that is forever etched in my memory as one of the most deeply meaningful social anthems ever written and sung, for its beautiful melody, poignant lyrics and soulful, powerful delivery!
Michael Jackson’s significant contribution to music– popular or otherwise– can never, ever, be denied. He was born to share his talent for music. And, boy, what gift it was! To me, he is a rarity– an original who paved the way for the rest of the superstars of today! He can compose and sing and dance with tremendous ease and skill! But best of all, he can perform! He is called the King of Pop. And for that, there is no objection. He has no equal!
Rest in peace, Michael, and thank you so much for your music!

4 Responses

  1. You and I practically grew up with the guy. He will be sorely missed and from now will only live in us through his music.

    • Very true, Pards! Sayang, ang aga niyang pumanaw…! But you are right, “He…from now will only live in us through his music.”
      Parang gusto kong makinig lang nang makinig ng music niya all day. And I won’t stop ’til I get enough!
      Take care always, Pards, and thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. kinilabutan naman ako sa video jose hehe…syempre lam mo naman pareho tayo ng generation. masuwerte din ako na i grew up with his music. and yeah amidst all the controversies, there’s still no denying that he’s still a real music genius.

    thanks for this post.

    **salamat sa mga payo *wink*

    • Hi, Heleyna!
      Ako man, the very first time I saw that video, I felt goose bumps! I love the music by itself, having listened to it many years ago when it first came out! But watching a video of its live performance was an entirely different experience! I was totally blown away by Michael’s very emotional, soulful rendition! It’s one of the YouTube music videos I couldn’t help myself watching over and over and over again! Totally awesome!!!
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog, Heleyna! I appreciate it a lot!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always!!!

Leave a Reply

