I’m in love for the first time

Don't let me down, 14"x11", graphite on Canson Classic Cream 80-lb Drawing paper

Don't let me down, 14"x11", graphite on Canson Classic Cream 80-lb Drawing paper

I’m in love for the first time.
Don’t you know it’s gonna last.
It’s a love that lasts forever,
It’s a love that has no past.

–“Don’t Let Me Down” by The Beatles

This is a love song credited to the songwriting duo of Lennon and McCartney. But it is essentially a John Lennon composition written out of John’s love for Yoko Ono. The song is an anguished plea by John to Yoko, which Paul McCartney saw this way: “I’m really stepping out of line on this one. I’m really just letting my vulnerability be seen, so you must not let me down.”

Photo from The Beatles' Abbey Road album (Photograph by Ian McMillan; Source, http://thebeatles.com/core/home/)

Photo from The Beatles' Abbey Road album (Photograph by Iain Macmillan; Source, http://thebeatles.com/core/home/) In photo from left to right: George Harrison, Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr and John Lennon

Man, I love The Beatles! And even with that statement, I feel like I’m doing myself and the group a disservice by not saying enough how much I really love them, even up to this day, so many years after I first listened to their music! Well, I love The Beatles– so much!– that I never tire of listening to them! When I think about music, The Beatles is the first thing that always comes up in my head. And I’ve always believed that they are the greatest band ever! But of course, my view is subjective and I know a whole lot of people will argue otherwise. The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Temptations, The Beach Boys, The Jackson 5, The Ramones, The Commodores, Duran Duran, Aerosmith, Journey, Juan Dela Cruz Band, Pink Floyd, Queen, U2, The Police, The Grateful Dead, Chicago, Tears For Fears, The Eagles, The APO Hiking Society, Metallica, The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Guns N’ Roses, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Bob Marley & The Wailers, The Clash, Sly & the Family Stone, and a whole lot more, sure they are all great bands and I’ve listened to most of their songs. But The Beatles’ songs were the ones that connected deeply with my life, ya know, like a true love does! Sure enough, if there was ever such a thing as first love in music, The Beatles would be it for me, the one dearest to my heart and the one I’d marry (nuts?! Yeah, I know)! Their songs have, for my taste, the perfect combination of incredible melody and lyrics. And, of course, with their songs being rooted in rock even makes their music all the more– shall I say– lovely!
When I was in high school, I would draw pictures of the Fab Four. And my beloved father, seeing how I was expressing my appreciation of The Beatles even through my drawings, told me not to get so preoccupied and serious about my admiration of the group. In hindsight, he was, of course, just reminding me to devote more time to studying. But at that time, I didn’t know exactly what he meant. I thought I remembered just looking at my father with my mind at a loss and no clue at all what was wrong with what I was doing. But from that time on, my love for their music never wavered even a bit!
I think all the great bands of today– even those with the potential of eclipsing The Beatles’ (or any other group’s) influence and popularity (a truly monumental feat, if at all possible)– have so much to thank the group for. Their contributions to music, in general, are astounding! They were the first band to use feedback in a recording (“I Feel Fine”), the first band to ever have actually played a sitar on their song “Norwegian Wood,” the first band to have the lyrics of the songs printed on the album (Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band), the first rock band to ever release a double album (The White Album), the first band to fill a 50,000-plus stadium (New York’s Shea Stadium), the first band to do backward recording (on their song, “Rain”), the first band to have each and every member of the group to sing lead, the first band to wear their hair really long, the first band to use a full orchestra (on their Revolver album), the first band to have composed almost all of their music, and a lot more!
Some say that The Beatles, as the greatest band ever, is an overrated group. But consider this: if all, and I mean all, of the world’s most popular bands, past and present, were all active today and they all released their respective favorite albums all at the same time, I bet my bottom dollar that The Beatles will have the most albums in the top ten– if not occupying the album chart’s number one slot! Now, if that doesn’t say a lot about a band’s worth, I don’t know what is. (And by the way, my favorite Beatles albums are Abbey Road and The White Album. And my most favorite Beatles song is “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da.”)

10 Responses

  1. In my playlists now are Beatles and Bee Gees song. I don’t get tired listening to their music. =)

    • Hi, wits!
      Yeah, aren’t they fantastic groups?!! I listened to the Bee Gees, too, at around the same time I was listening to The Beatles. Those were incredible times for me! Just great music!
      Thanks for stopping by, wits!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always!!!

  2. nice beatles, i love them.

    • Hi, Alvin! Thanks a lot for visiting my blog! I appreciate it a lot!
      I’m glad you love the Beatles, too. You can’t go wrong with their music. It runs the gamut from silliness (“Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da”) to rock-heavy (“Helter Skelter”) and every fantastic composition in between!
      Take care and GOD Bless!!!

  3. I guess this admiration for the Beatles helped you so much when you were in HIGH SCHOOL…just topping your class ..mr.valedictorian? Great song indeed !No one can beat the Beatles!Take care dear friend ! It’s always nice to read your postings.

    • Thanks, 5378, for always keeping in touch! But most especially, thank you so much for the very kind words and compliment!
      I appreciate your kindness very, very much!
      Take care and GOD Bless you and all your loved ones always!!!

  4. Hi Jose,

    if you get to be at vegas at the Mirage, check out Cirque du Soleil’s “Love” show which features their songs…you will surely enjoy it…oh well you might already have seen it anyways… 🙂

    LSS: “All you need is love” 😉 now you made me sing he! he!

    Have a blessed weekend…ingat lagi!

    • Hi, Rebecca!
      Thanks a lot for the heads-up! No, I haven’t seen any Cirque du Soleil show yet. But I hear how great their shows are every time they perform! And it’s a bummer that I’m not planning to visit Vegas any time soon! 😦
      In the meantime, I’ll just listen to The Beatles’ “All You Need Is Love” and imagine Cirque performing their incredible numbers!
      Yes, “All you need is love, love; love is all you need!”
      Thanks so much, Rebecca, for stopping by. I appreciate it a lot!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always!!!

  5. Very nice write-up! It’s been close to 40 years since they broke up but I still think that they remain as one of the most influential bands in the world. The sound was original and the musicianship was awesome.

    I love all the Beatles albums except for Yellow Submarine but if I would have to rank them, my Top Two favorites are Rubber Soul and Revolver. 🙂

    • Pards, thanks so much for stopping by! I appreciate it a lot!
      Fantastic choices, Pards! Rubber Soul and Revolver are absolute gems! Revolver, actually, is my third choice as it has some of my other personal favorites in that album.
      You know, while I believe in the saying that “There’s always someone better than you”– and I feel this applies to musical groups, as well– I do not think that I will ever live long enough to witness, in my lifetime, a band more influential than The Beatles. Even U2 or The Rolling Stones or The Eagles or even Coldplay ain’t there yet in The Beatles’ lofty pedestal. Maybe in another hundred years, when another group will have the brilliance to take music to a level out of the ordinary. And I imagine it’ll take a whole lot of genius and vision to create music that will inspire people generation after generation.
      Thanks a lot again, Pards, for visiting my blog!
      Take care!

Leave a Reply

