Crossroads

i can't spell when i'm lost, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

i can't spell when i'm lost, 11"x9", pen and ink on medium-weight white paper

Crossroads

Today I find myself again
wondering hard whether or not
I should take the leap of faith and
never even for once look back.
Like something’s about to happen
while I’m at the crossroads of life;
as the four winds blow on each end,
must I, too, leave my cares behind?
But how did things seem all laden
with a grief that was hard to bear?
And a spirit so disheartened
by the wearying guilt I had!
When did I first feel this burden?
And then I remembered my past,
as farther back I could portend:
the first crossroads I came upon!
That was the time I was given
the chance to be a better me.
But all that glittered and glistened
were only what my eyes could see!
And so my life’s been this since then–
the day I failed my test of faith!
That doomed moment my will weakened
cost me a lifetime of regret!
Then again all of a sudden,
another crossroads fast appeared!
This time waiting still as a friend
telling everyone not to fear!
So I gazed up into heaven
as I took one more step forward,
praying to keep my lessons learned
close to my heart all through this path!
So again it has been proven
that not all who fall fail always–
the farthest away sins are turned,
crossroads become paradises!

8 Responses

  1. You’re indeed amazing.The lines are so intense …that many people perhaps can relate..including yours truly…that not all who fall fail always…I always believe that in every crossroads in our life..in whatever direction one chooses..hope never ceases to follow…that there’s triumph beneath the failure that one had experienced.I know everybody as long as he or she is alive can always redeem oneself in every day that passes by even in the crossroads …especially in the road less travelled.Please continue to inspire people with your gift.Thank you so much my dear friend..you are INDEED God’s gift to humanity.

    • Hi, 5378! First, thanks so much for always visiting my blog! Second, many, many, many thanks for all your kind words and compliment! Of course, I am absolutely thankful– and flattered! And third, but not least, thanks a whole lot for your input and post suggestions– they are all very, very, very much appreciated! Thank you so much, from the bottom of my heart!!!
      I believe all crossroads– or, metaphorically, critical moments in one’s life– have saving graces associated with them. The word-part “cross” itself hints of salvation, even though it may also mean a burdensome “cross” to others. But however which way one understands the term, I believe everyone has his/her personal “cross” to bear. And as is always the case in the critical and most important moments in our lives when we need to make our choices, everything comes down to our individual free will. In the crossroads of life, you lay exactly that– your life– in whatever decision you make. The choice one makes at that crossroads will eventually define his/her life down the line. So…choose wisely!
      As for me, I choose Pepsi– the choice of the new generation! 😀
      Take care there, 5378, and GOD Bless you always!!!

  2. Ikaw sumulat nito pare? huwaw. I’m in awe. And I still can relate with that crossroad thing…

    • Heleyna, hellooo!!! Long time no read! I’m sooo glad you stopped by!
      Oo, ako sumulat ng tula. Isang araw ko ring binuno ‘yon! And thank you so much for appreciating it and for the compliment! I’m so very happy that you liked what I wrote there!
      Binibisita ko yung blog mo pero wala pang update lately. At pumupunta rin ako sa “Pakingshetness!” tumblr blog mo! Fantastic site! I love the green background you got there and, of course, the Billy Joel song excerpt! (Nakinig tuloy ako ng Billy Joel songs pagkatapos kong mabasa tumblog mo– the very first time I visited your tumblr site!)
      Salamat ulit nang marami, Heleyna, sa pagbisita mo sa blog ko! I appreciate it a lot!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always!!!

  3. Great poem and another wonderful piece of work master artist jose! 🙂 …may the Lord lead us all to the right path on our crossroads in life.

    Have a blessed week. Ingat lagi.

    • Hi, Rebecca! Thank you so very much for the visit and the compliment! I really appreciate it a lot!
      May tumawag ulit sa ‘king “master artist”! (Yay!!!) Nahihiya tuloy ako… Pakiramdam ko para akong National Artist ng Pilipinas! (May intriga pa naman dun ngayon tungkol dito… :D)
      Same here, Rebecca, if one finds himself/herself at the crossroads of life, better say a prayer and ask for guidance from God! Otherwise, he/she can’t make that leap of faith!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always, Rebecca!!!
      Have a great week ahead!

  4. I don’t know…I just so love this poem …that I need to see this again…

    • Thanks so much, 5378!
      I’m glad you love this poem. It’s true all the way, anyway. I wrote it from the heart!
      Thanks again for stopping by! I appreciate it very much!
      Take care and GOD Bless you always, 5378!!!

Leave a Reply

