Miracle

My girlfriend once asked me what, in my opinion, is the greatest miracle in my life. And, although I didn’t have an easy answer for her at that time, I knew in my heart that it’s got to be love. But which kind of love? Is it the kind of loving that I give to others– my family, in particular? Or the love that I receive from them and other people? I was inclined to reply with both kinds of love. But accepting that as it is somehow masks the meaning of miracle. The Free Dictionary defines miracle as “an event that appears inexplicable by the laws of nature and so is held to be supernatural in origin or an act of God.” The way I see it, I ought to receive love because I give love. Yes, it makes perfect sense, even though there’s hardly a miracle I’m seeing there. After all, it is The Golden Rule exemplified here, a realization of the causality relationship between cause and effect events. But since I also believe that it is already my Christian duty to love my fellowman, then loving, in this sense, must no longer be an inexplicable nor a supernatural act. Instead, it becomes an integral part of my nature, manifested without or with little difficulty into a course for expression. I should, therefore, not find it an impossible task anymore to love anyone. Suddenly, what seems like a miracle becomes an easily attainable regularity. All things considered, an even more baffling reality would be one’s inability to love and, yet, still be loved! Reflecting on this gave me the answer I was searching for– that the greatest miracle in my life is that someone still loves me, in spite of who I am! Because, whether I know how to love or not, the fact that a person loves me proves the truth that love, once it wells up, can flow freely from one’s heart into my own– abundantly! And it doesn’t expect anything in return! That is where the greatness of this miracle exists– that it is true and it is happening, despite my mind saying otherwise! This I understood even better when I realized that God loves me unconditionally even if I don’t love Him back enough!
Truly, when one believes in God, a miracle always happens! Even when it feels like the whole world is on your shoulder, when everyone seems to hate you, there is always someone who surely still loves you without fail and without equal: God! And He will never leave you nor forsake you! Now, if that isn’t the greatest miracle in one’s life, I don’t know what is!

This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” 1 John 4:10 (NIV)

4 Responses

  1. Master Artist..thanks for sharing your thoughts !
    I agree with you 100 % that God’s love is indeed the greatest miracle on earth…nothing is more powerful than His love for us…nothin is more Powerful than God…if we love someone now or if we learn to love someone else…it is just God’s extension of love to us.He is the sole source of LOVE in this WORLD!
    Have a blessed lenten season..and stay as generous as you are in sharing your gift to the world .

  2. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

