The future starts today

The future starts today, not tomorrow.” –Pope John Paul II (18 May 1920 – 2 April 2005)

gotcha! the future is in my hands!, 12"x9", pen and ink on Strathmore 400-series, 60-lb Sketch paper

the man looks back at his life
examines it
and as if in disbelief wonders,
“was i born to live the life i have now?”
he ponders for so long
his eyes fixed to the ground,
after which he stares at the horizon ahead
still not knowing the answer to his question.
and then, even more perplexingly,
as though searching for a second opinion
asks himself sheepishly another question,
“why was i born?”
then he finds another person
who seems contented and happy about life
not far from where he stands.
he approaches this person, a woman,
and asks her the same first question
which he himself couldn’t answer with certainty.
and, lo and behold,
the woman answers readily
and willfully, so sure of herself,
that the reason she lives the life she has now
is because she was born!
her answer stunned him
for how can she be happy
while he is not!?
still astounded, he thanks her
and off she goes her way,
his eyes following her walk
her sure steps away from him.
then it dawned on him, as if an epiphany–
the answer he has been so keenly searching for all his life!
that the distance between him and her
is the difference between misery and joy,
the missing link between the “then” and “now”!
only then does he realize now
that the self-fulfillment or discontentment
a person experiences
is actually the “work-in-progress”
between the time this person was born
and this person’s present life.
now he feels enlightened
gathers himself,
looks up to the sky in gratitude and supplication
and walks further ahead
toward the horizon.
he assures himself
that he will rebuild his tomorrow
by working on his life today.
he feels reborn, elated and grateful
because now he truly believes it is never too late to change,
that today defines the future,
and that his very own future must start today.

forget it! don't stockpile for tomorrow by digging up the past today, 12"x9", pen and ink on Strathmore 400-series, 60-lb Sketch paper

2 Responses

  1. “Was i born to live the life i have now?”
    I think if I were to ask this to myself…
    Yes , I was..if only to have the true love…that I have now..
    For I believe I was born to love this very special person…
    and Master Artist…everytime I look up to the sky ..I close my eyes…and in deep gratitude and appreciation of the ONLY GOD I know…I have been thanking Him since the day I have been enlightened by my Faith,,,,that everyday is a day for us to redeem ourselves…and every minute is like the precious diamond more so,,, if spent with the person whose heart and soul complete my entire being.
    I believe in my heart …everybody deserves a second chance…just keep on trying and keep on thinking positive…at least that’s what I do..
    Thanks for posting again…it’s been a looooooooong time…what’s keeping you busy…are you in love???
    I just hope you’re into what I am presently experiencing right now…because I always see the”future every time I see the angelic face of my true love everyday!”
    God bless you …Master Artist!Stay happy and keep on smiling!

    • I may be idealistic, yes, but I believe that– bottom line– we are all meant to be born happy. I understand that experiences of grief and sadness are normal occurrences in life. But, as I’ve said, we’re meant to be happy. I myself want to be happy. So I think everyone strives to be happy one way or another. It all boils down to personal choices. Whatever we made of our lives, we made them ourselves– through our own personal choices. Choose to be happy. At least, whichever way our lives turn out to be, we set out to achieve our goals in pursuit of happiness. In short, we meant our lives to be happy. I can live with that.
      Thanks so much, 5378, for visiting my blog! I appreciate it a lot! And I’m happy for you for feeling happy about your life! GOD Bless you and all your loved ones always!!!

Leave a Reply

